My Favourite Films

I would describe myself as a lover of films and, although I don’t do it very often anymore, one of my favourite things to do is go to the cinema. I thought I would therefore compile a list of my favourite films, which has ended up being quite long actually! I know that some of the films on this list are what some people might see as ‘trashy’ I guess, but for some reason or other, every movie on this list has a special place in my heart. They are also in no particular order at all, apart from my absolute favourite film which is last on the list.


– The Devil Wears Prada (2006)

I just really really love this film. The cast is brilliant, in particular Anne Hathaway, Meryl Streep, Stanley Tucci and Emily Blunt, and it’s just so much fun. The section of the film set in Paris is probably my favourite part, the setting is gorgeous. I could honestly watch this film again and again because it just makes me smile and it’s a real feel good movie.

– Crossroads (2002)

Okay, this film. The majority of the reviews for Crossroads say it is shockingly bad, but I can’t help but love it. When I was younger, I bought or was given the DVD and I just ended up watching it a lot, I must have watched it 10 times at the very least. I adore road trip movies and everything about this I love. The Shania Twain singalong in the car is brilliant! I wouldn’t say this is a good film, but I love it anyway. Plus, it stars Britney Spears, so there.

– Groundhog Day (1993)

Groundhog Day is extremely funny and Bill Murray’s understated performance is one of the best things about this film. It’s very enjoyable but its serious and deeper message is clear, which makes it all the better. This is a very clever idea which has been executed very well.

– Little Miss Sunshine (2006)

Ah I love Little Miss Sunshine so much. The cast. The cast is incredible and i won’t even list the actors because everyone gives superb performances. What I love is that this film is in no way glamourised, even though the cast contains half of Hollywood. It’s honest and refreshing to see, each character is so complex and it is so enjoyable with lots of dark humour.

– Mean Girls (2004)

This is a guilty pleasure film of mine, for a few years of my life I probably watched this at every sleepover I went to yet it’s never boring. This film does have a good message in the end, and it’s so so funny. My favourite character is undoubtedly Janis Ian, probably one of my favourite ever fictional characters. It’s a sweet movie that I could watch again and again.

– The Truman Show (1998)

You should know that I just love Jim Carrey (and he’s in three of the films on this list) because he’s so funny but I think his best performances are in the more serious roles. The Truman Show is one of those films where I can’t put my finger on why I love it, but I really do love it. The concept is so clever and it’s so thought provoking, it makes you question complex ideas such as ‘reality’ whilst still being a very funny movie. It will make you change the way you think!

– (500) Days of Summer (2009)

This might be the film where I discovered Zooey Deschanel and this movie should be on this list for that reason alone, because I really love her. I think this is one of the best love story films and it’s not your typical romance. The cinematography is amazing and the soundtrack is incredible. The Smiths and The Temper Trap to name but a few, but the music is key to this film and I love that.

– Yes Man (2008)

And now this film is a combination of Jim Carrey and Zooey Deschanel, and it works so well. This is Jim Carrey in one of his more humorous roles and I think he plays Carl, the recluse and the skeptic, fantastically. The premise is very unique and I love this film because it really makes you question whether you are living your life to the fullest.

– About Time (2013)

Ah this film is so cute! The idea of time travel is by no means new but somehow, About Time manages to reinvent it and make it their own. It’s so heartwarming and again, it really makes you think about how you are living your life and it you’re appreciating what you have.

– Amélie (2001)

I only watched this film very recently yet it’s already one of my favourites. Audrey Tautou is amazing in this movie and it really makes me want to visit France because all of the locations are so so beautiful. I just loved the style of Amélie and it has made me interested in watched more French films and in particular French language films, partly because I am taking French at GCSE.

– Man Up (2015)

This is probably another instance where it’s not the best film in the world but I love it, mainly because it’s such a warm and feel good movie. Simon Pegg and Lake Bell are amazing (and I couldn’t believe it when I found out that Lake Bell is American, her English accent is so good!) and their chemistry is incredible, I think that is what made the film so great. I recommend you give this a watch if you’re feeling sad.

– Bridget Jones’s Diary (2001)

I only watched this for the first time at Christmas and I just fell in love with it. All the characters are the best thing about it, Renée Zellweger is fantastic and I honestly adore Hugh Grant. Shortly after, I watched the second film and loved it perhaps just as much as the first, now I cannot wait to watch the third film in the cinema. I’m eternally sad that Hugh Grant won’t be in it but I’m excited to see Patrick Dempsey!

– Bandslam (2009)

I think this is a hugely underrated film and it’s often mistaken for another trashy teen movie. If you’ve ever thought that about Bandslam, watch it and it will prove you wrong. It’s based around music, and the soundtrack is so good. The song ‘Someone to Fall Back On’ by Aly Michalka is incredible, and Aly Michalka is generally incredible in this movie. It’s a very powerful movie (and even has a cameo from David Bowie) and if you’ve ever had any doubts about this film, I recommend you watch it.

– Hunger Games movies (2012-2015)

I am very attached to these movies, just as I was attached to the books when I read them four years ago. It is as good a book to movie adaptation as I’ve ever seen; it’s not perfect but you’ll never get perfect. These movies honestly mean so much to me and I was so sad when the series ended last year. I watched the first film in a near empty cinema in Malta just after I’d read the first book, and that sounds random but it’s something I’ll always remember. I love these films because I love the books and I love the books because, although I’ve always loved reading, they made me love reading in a serious way.

– Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004)

Okay, this is the last film on the list (well done for making it here) and this is my favourite film. It’s my favourite film, and I probably can’t give a definitive reason why. I watched this film a couple of months ago in my bed and afterwards I remained in a state of shock for a good couple of hours. This film is so beautiful and stunning and weird and wonderful and romantic and heart breaking. Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet are simply incredible. I cannot form coherent thoughts about the film but I hope that tells you how much I love it. If you haven’t watched Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, watch it. Thank you.

 

Leave a Reply

