An Anecdote

It’s 1:30am and I cannot sleep, so I thought I’d just write a quick blog post an anecdote if you like.

 

In October of last year, at dance we had an intensive for 5 days (like we do in most half terms) with a wonderful choreographer called John Ross, to make a piece for the show we did in March. I’ve done 3 intensives in total now and that may have been my favourite, the piece we created was definitely one of my favourite pieces I’ve ever performed in. 

It was 5 days and they were 8 hour days (10am-6pm) which were very full on, so by the end of each day we were all quite tired. So our choreographer would set aside about 15 minutes at the end of each day, or at least the last three days, he would switch most of the lights in the studio off and we would all just lie on the floor. 

John would play some music in the background, and I eventually realised that it was the same music every day. We asked him what it was on the last day, and it was two songs, ‘Saturn’ and ‘Moon’ both by Sleeping at Last. Genuinely, I don’t think any piece of music has had such an effect on me. Listen to them both, particularly ‘Saturn’, it is incredibly beautiful.

Some people fell asleep in this time at the end and that was fine, and perfectly understandable as running a 15 minute high energy contemporary dance piece over and over again is exhausting. I always stayed awake though, it was a perfect time to silently reflect on everything. I can just remember these moments vividly because it was just magical. The whole intensive was one of the best weeks of my life (although it absolutely killed me!) and it allowed me to think about how grateful I was for everything. I felt very lucky. 

 

I’ll obviously remember all these amazing years of dancing for the rest of my life, but there are specific moments that I know I will remember (I could list them right now) and that is one of them. Lying on the floor in the studio, my favourite place in the world, at 6pm in the middle of winter, with my favourite people in the world, listening to a stunning piece of music and feeling amazing.

 
