BookTubeathon TBR!


On the 18th to the 24th July, it is time for the annual BookTubeathon! This is a week long readathon which is worldwide and is once again hosted by the amazing Ariel Bissett. All of the details of this can be found on the BookTubeathon YouTube channel. I’ve kind of half participated in this in previous years, but this year I’m not very busy on that week, except for having school until we finish for summer on the Wednesday and working at the library on the Saturday.

There are also seven challenges which you can complete and which can help you to build your to be read pile for the readathon. So, using these challenges, these are the books I’m hoping to read on that week:

1) Read a book with yellow on the cover:

For this one I will be reading Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom. This is an ARC I received from LoveReading that I am yet to read. Also, this definitely has yellow on the cover!
2) Read a book only after sunset:


I wanted this to be a short book so I could read it in one sitting after sunset. So, quite an apt choice would be Politically Correct Bedtime Stories by James Finn Garner. This is a fun collection of really short stories (with a twist) and I thought it would be perfect to read quickly and to have a laugh as well. 

3) Read a book that you discovered through booktube:

There are so many books I could have chosen for this but I have picked Panic by Lauren Oliver. I think Booksplosion did a liveshow discussing this book and I’ve seen lots of reviews for it on YouTube so I wanted to finally get to this.
4) Read a book by one of your favourite authors:

As you may know, one of my favourite ever book series is The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins, in fact it was the series that got me watching booktube as once I finished reading it, I wanted to see what other people thought of it, so I searched on YouTube. From this, I discovered Christine Riccio then the rest was history! Anyway, this is why I want to read Gregor and the Rats of Underland, which is the first book in Suzanne Collins’s middle grade series.

5) Read a book that is older than you:

I am 15 years old and Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder was published in 1991 which makes it about 25 years old, and older than me! I’m also excited to read this book because it features many Western philosophical concepts, which I am very interested in.

6) Read and watch a book to movie adaptation:

For this challenge, I’ve chosen It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini. This has been high on my to be read pile for so long now, I think this will be the first book I read during the week. Also, it will be interesting to then watch the film adaptation shortly after!
7) Read 7 books:

Now, I highly, highly doubt I will read this much or get this far, but the ultimate challenge of the BookTubeathon is to read 7 books. So, I have added a fun contemporary novel to my list, The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E Smith.

I have no idea how successful I will be at the BookTubeathon, but all I will try to do is read as much as possible. If anyone is also interested in doing this, then I would recommend it, it’s great fun!

One thought on “BookTubeathon TBR!”

  1. ahh I love this post! I’d never heard of the BookTubeathon but it sounds amazing, I hope you enjoy it. It’s Kind Of A Funny Story is one of my all time favourite books, I can’t wait for you to read it !! X

    Like

Leave a Reply

