Anticipated tv shows 2016/2017

Anticipated tv shows:

I am an absolute tv addict. I love it. Perhaps it’s just a coincidence but in the coming months and next year, there is going to be so much tv which I am so excited for. For starters, my two favourite shows of all time are coming back, which is amazing! This list is primarily made up of returning tv shows which I have enjoyed in the last couple of years, alongside a few new shows which have interested me. The list is also made up entirely of British tv shows, airing on either BBC or ITV.

One of Us:

This is a brand new four part drama on BBC1 starting tonight if you’re reading this today, 23rd August. It is set in Scotland and tells the story of a double murderer returning to the families of the victims. I don’t want to know much more but I am very intrigued by this! It has a great cast, but I particularly like Georgina Campbell (Murdered by my Boyfriend, Flowers), I am a fan of hers and I’m very excited to see her in Broadchurch also.

The Missing:

It’s hard to believe that it’s almost been 2 years since the first series of The Missing! I just loved the first series and James Nesbit was incredible (although he will not be in the second series), I also loved the ambiguous ending, which some people hated. For that reason, I’m slightly uncertain about the second series, but I’ll be happy if it turns out the new case is in fact completely unrelated to the first. The plot does look very interesting, and it stars Keeley Hawes, who was incredible in Line of Duty! I can’t find an air date for this just yet, but it is featured in a trailer for Autumn BBC programmes, so I’m guessing it will start sometime before the end of the year.

Peter Kay’s Car Share:

I love this show so much, and I’m so happy that it is coming back! It’s such a brilliant feel-good comedy, and the simple concept of two colleagues driving in a car to and from work is so effective. Peter Kay and Sian Gibson are returning for a second series of the award winning show on BBC1, and although it won’t be until next year and it will be a slightly shorter series, I cannot wait to catch up with these characters once again.

Muncie:

This is a new three part mini series on ITV which follows the true story of detective William Muncie trying to convict Scottish serial killer Peter Manuel. Manuel is being played by Martin Compston, from Line of Duty and one of my favourite actors, so this is immediately drawing me to this show. Plus, I’m very excited to see Martin play a bad guy for a change! As I said, this is based on a true story but I was not aware of it, but like ‘The Secret’ which also aired on ITV earlier this year, I look forward to learning about a recent event in history, the premise is very intriguing. 

The A Word:

This will not be coming back for a long while yet, as it hasn’t been too long since the first series aired, but a second series has been confirmed so I thought I would include it. I have to say, this wasn’t my favourite show ever, for various reasons, but on the whole I did enjoy the first series and I loved the whole cast, which includes Morven Christie and Christopher Eccleston. I’m not terribly excited for a second series of The A Word although having said that, I will definitely watch it.

Ordinary Lies:

I absolutely loved the first series of Ordinary Lies, I thought it was so clever. The cast was so good, including Jason Manford, Michelle Keegan, Jo Joyner and Sally Lindsay. I particularly loved the first episode, in which, in order to save his job, Manford’s character lies to his work and says his wife has died. It was just brilliant! I was a bit disappointed when I found out the second series would have a different cast and location (I vaguely remember there being a cliffhanger at the end of series 1?) but perhaps there was just nothing left to do with those characters. The new cast is equally as excellent, including Angela Griffin, Matt Di Angelo, Jill Halfpenny, Griff Rhys Jones, Luke Bailey and Noel Sullivan, and this time round it is set in a call centre and warehouse of a sports sales company in Cardiff. I also saw this in an autumn trailer on BBC so it should be airing before the end of this year.

Sherlock:

I honestly have missed Sherlock, series 4 cannot come quick enough and that new trailer has made me even more excited. I’m not sure why but recently I have been watching some old episodes, and without a doubt my favourite thing about Sherlock is the slight humour, I really hope they keep some of that in series 4. I am a fan of Benedict Cumberbatch, especially after watching him at Letters Live in June where he made a surprise appearance and was absolutely brilliant, and I really love Martin Freeman. This should be airing at the beginning of next year!

The Replacement:

This is a new BBC three part mini series (which has just wrapped filming), and I actually can’t tell you how excited I am for this! It is a psychological thriller starring Morven Christie and Vicky McClure, two of my favourite actresses, particularly Vicky who I just love so much in Line of Duty particularly, and also This Is England and Broadchurch. It does seem as if Vicky is playing the ‘bad guy’ of the series, and going back to Martin, I’m so excited to see both of them playing ‘villain’ characters when their characters in Line of Duty are ultimately good. Richard Rankin is also in the show, I have loved him in several programmes in the past. The premise of The Replacement sounds so interesting, and the combination of actors is magic, so you can’t really go wrong!

Safe House:

Safe House is a returning itv drama, I think the first series aired last year and I remember liking it. The second series is meant to be a continuation of the first but I’m not sure if this is still the case, because Christopher Eccleston was the lead in the first series but he has pulled out of the second, meaning there had to be a complete cast change and change of location. Apparently filming has started this month, so when it does air, presumably next year, I’m willing to go into it completely blind and see what it’s like.

Okay, these next two are the big ones, I’m more excited for these two shows than all of the others combined:

Line of Duty:

It’s hard to believe that only a few months ago, I was completely unaware of Line of Duty. I may have heard of it, but that is all. I watched the trailer for series 3 on tv and thought it looked amazing, but I couldn’t find the other two series anywhere. I forgot about it. Fast forward to when the final episode of series 3 was on tv, somehow I ended up catching the last half an hour of it. I had no idea what was going on but I knew I had to watch this, so we bought the boxset. Wow. There are no words for how amazing this show is. Those interrogation scenes, the music, the characters, the plot twists. I just adore Vicky McClure and Martin Compston and I’m so excited for series 4 to be on BBC1, because I’m certain that the reason I had previously not watched it is that it’s been on BBC2. I’m so happy that there will be at least another two series of this wonderful show. Filming has just started or is just about to start and I’m so excited!

Broadchurch:

Broadchurch is more bittersweet, I think. I am beyond excited for this to come back for a third series, but it will be the final series. I do agree with that, I think Broadchurch is different to Line of Duty as it just couldn’t go on for many series. That doesn’t make it either better or worse, just different, but it does mean that it has to come to an end. It will honestly kill me to have to say goodbye to Ellie Miller and Alec Hardy, that currently doesn’t even bear thinking about. I was in floods of tears at the end of S2 and that wasn’t even very sad, so god help me for the end of S3! This has been filming for a good couple of months now, I think it is expected to air early next year. Broadchurch was always planned as a trilogy, now this will just be the final chapter. 

 

So those are the shows I am looking forward to watching in the near and distant future. Added to that, I religiously watch all the autumn talent/reality shows, and this year is no exception: Great British Bake Off, X Factor and Strictly all very soon, and then The Apprentice and I’m a Celeb later. Also, my regular watching on the soaps (Coronation Street and Emmerdale) and also Casualty! Finally, my favourite favourite favourite panel show Would I Lie to You? is coming back next month, to my absolute delight!

 

I am a tv addict, but I don’t have to tell you that. From this blog post, it’s very obvious.

Leave a Reply

